clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Seven former Los Angeles/St.Louis Rams among 2020 NFL Hall Of Fame nominees

It’s a familiar list for the Rams who potentially could be headed to Canton...

AFC-NFC Hall of Fame Game: Indianapolis Colts v Washington Redskins Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Seven former Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams have been included in the 122 modern era nominees for the 2020 NFL Hall of Fame class:

  • WR Isaac Bruce (1994-2007)
  • WR Torry Holt (1999-2008)
  • WR/PR Henry Ellard (1983-1993)
  • DT La’Roi Glover (2006-2008)
  • DL Leslie O’Neal (1996-97)
  • P Sean Landeta (1993-96, 2003-04)
  • LB London Fletcher (1998-2001)

All seven were among the 108 nominees last year. When the cuts down to 25 semifinalists came, only Bruce and Holt remained. Of the 15 finalists, Bruce was the only former Ram. And sadly yet again, he missed out on his call to the Hall as one of the eight finalists who didn’t make the cut. Hopefully this is the year the selection committee gets the Reverend in.

The nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and to 15 finalists in early January 2020. The Hall of Fame Selection Committee will then vote on the finalists the day before Super Bowl LIV.

The voting process is a little bit different this year as the Hall wanted to line things up with the celebration of the NFL’s 100th season. This year, they will select 20 members to form the next Hall of Fame class. Five will come from this list of modern era nominees. Another 10 will come from what are called “senior” nominees who have been retired more than 25 years. They’ll also include two coaches and three “contributors” who were neither players nor coaches. Last year, the coaches were listed along with the modern era nominees; two coaches, Dick Vermeil and Jim Hanifan, had spent time with the Rams. This year, the coaches, senior players and contributors will be selected by a “blue ribbon panel” of Hall of Fame Selection Committee members, Hall of Famers, media members, historians and “industry experts.”

The first-year nominees this year are:

  • EDGE John Abraham
  • OLB Lance Briggs
  • WR/KR/PR Josh Cribbs
  • RB Maurice Jones-Drew
  • S Troy Polamalu
  • DL Justin Smith
  • WR Reggie Wayne
  • LB Patrick Willis



Put Ike in the Hall.