clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Los Angeles Rams DT Aaron Donald named team MVP

The Rams’ team awards have been announced, and there are some interesting names that won some hardware.

NFL: Los Angeles Rams at Arizona Cardinals Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

With the 2018 season coming to an end, the Los Angeles Rams handed out their team awards, and some may seem like a shoe-in with others coming as a surprise:

With a downright legendary season coming from DT Aaron Donald, he’s been named the team MVP. Donald has set the all-time single-season DT sack record, as well as the single-season Rams sack record. Both stand at 19.5 currently.

Defensive end John Franklin-Myers won the Carroll Rosenbloom Memorial Award, given to the team’s rookie of the year. JFM has played sparingly, though has made the biggest impact from a rookie class that lacked a first or second round pick. JFM has two sacks on the season, one being a forced fumble.

With the spear-heading of community events, left tackle Andrew Whitworth receives the Carl Ekern Spirit of the Game Award. Big Whit was obviously the main factor in helping the victims of the Thousand Oaks shooting, as well as the turmoil around the wildfires that devastated the community.

Cornerback Sam Shields is the Rams team recipient of the Ed Block Courage Award. Shields is likely an inspiration to the team as a player who nearly seen his career end over injury issues (concussions specifically), though he fought back and turned in a productive year.