clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Five Los Angeles Rams named to 2018 Pro Bowl roster

New, comments

A handful of Rams are headed to the Pro Bowl.

Los Angeles Rams P Johnny Hekker, RB Todd Gurley and DL Aaron Donald pose during 2016 Pro Bowl photo day
Los Angeles Rams P Johnny Hekker, RB Todd Gurley and DL Aaron Donald pose during 2016 Pro Bowl photo day
Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Rams have had five players voted in to the 2018 Pro Bowl: RB Todd Gurley, DL Aaron Donald, WR/KR/PR Pharoh Cooper, P Johnny Hekker and K Greg Zuerlein.

For Gurley, it’s been a breakout season as he’s ascended into the top tier of offensive threats in the NFL. Just Todd Gurley has posted his top rushing season of his career with 1,187 yards and 13 touchdowns coming on the ground, but it has been his 630 receiving yards and four receiving touchdowns that have elevated him into another echelon. He still has two games left to add a quantitative exclamation point to the season, but what’s really left is to put his name on a game that matters beyond Week 17. And I’m not talking about the Pro Bowl.

Cooper, Hekker and Zuerlein are all making the roster. It’s a nod to their individual skill, but it’s also a nod toward Special Teams Coordinator John Fassel. When RB Benny Cunningham signed with the Chicago Bears, many Rams fans worried his return skills were left unfilled. I think it’s fair to give some credit to the rest of the special teams crew blocking on kick and punt returns at this point as Cooper is now 2nd in the NFL in kick return yards per and punt return yards per.

As for Aaron Donald, he remains Aaron Donald which remains good enough to make the Pro Bowl every year.

Three Rams were named alternates in QB Jared Goff, LT Andrew Whitworth and CB Trumaine Johnson. I’m a bit shocked that (a) the Rams’ offensive line didn’t get a bit more love and (b) DB Lamarcus Joyner wasn’t included at least in the alternates, but we can’t have it all, can we?

Here’s the rest of the NFC roster. The Pro Bowl takes place, Jan. 28, at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida.