clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Los Angeles Rams RB Todd Gurley Named 2015 PFWA Rookie Of The Year, Rob Havenstein On Rookie Team

The Rams' star RB picks up his first award of the year.

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Los Angeles Rams RB Todd Gurley has been named the 2016 Pro Football Writers of America Rookie of the Year as well as their Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Just Todd Gurley's intiial professional campaign saw him run for more than 125 yards in four games in a row, the only rookie in NFL history to do so. His five games in a season of more than 125 yards Gurley led all rookies with 1,106 rushing yards (in just 12 starts), 1,294 yards from scrimmage and five 100-yard games en route to a Pro Bowl berth as well.

It's the second year in a row for the Rams to take a PFWA ROY award as Aaron Donald was named the 2014 PFWA Defensive Rookie Of The Year a year ago.

This year's Defensive Rookie Of The Year was Kansas City Chiefs CB Marcus Peters.

In addition to Gurley's ROY award, Rams RT Rob Havenstein was named to the PFWA All-Rookie Team.

Here is the 2015 PFWA All-Rookie Team:


QB - Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
RB - Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; Thomas Rawls, Seattle Seahawks
WR - Amari CooperOakland RaidersStefon DiggsMinnesota Vikings
TE - Will TyeNew York Giants
C - Mitch Morse, Kansas City Chiefs
G - Ali Marpet, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Brandon ScherffWashington Redskins
T - Rob Havenstein, St. Louis Rams; Donovan Smith, Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DL - Malcom BrownNew England PatriotsEddie GoldmanChicago BearsDanielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings; Leonard WilliamsNew York Jets
LB - Kwon Alexander, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Stephone AnthonyNew Orleans SaintsEric Kendricks, Minnesota Vikings
CB - Ronald DarbyBuffalo Bills; Marcus Peters, Kansas City Chiefs
S - Adrian Amos, Chicago Bears; Landon Collins, New York Giants

Special Teams

PK - Josh LamboSan Diego Chargers
P - Matt DarrMiami Dolphins
KR - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks
PR - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks
ST - Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks