clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The time Sam Bradford got a 'Tuck rule' call

New, comments

The Tuck rule is going away, but the Rams actually benefited from an appropriate application of it last season.

Mike Ehrmann

Wednesday marks the end for the infamous "Tuck rule," considered by some, mostly Raider fans, to be football's greatest injustice. You know the most famous Tuck rule incident, the fumble that should have been that allowed the Patriots to beat the Raiders on their way to the franchise's first Super Bowl win under Bill Belichick, a dynasty that started by beating the Rams.

Speaking of the Rams, they had their run-ins with the Tuck rule too. Sam Bradford experienced in last season's Week 6 loss to the Miami Dolphins, with the rare correct application of the Tuck rule.

In the third quarter, with the Dolphins leading 17-6, Cameron Wake made his way around Barry Richardson (of course!) and sacked Bradford on third-and-five who was in the midst of what would have been an impressive throw for what probably would have been a three-yard gain.

The call on the field was a fumble, recovered by Jared Odrick. Another recent rule change, calling for the review of all turnovers, gave the officials in the booth the chance to take a look; they ruled it an incomplete pass by Bradford.

See for yourself.

Tuckbradford

For the nostalgists, here's the Tuck rule as it appears in the rule book:

NFL Rule 3, Section 22, Article 2, Note 2. When [an offensive] player is holding the ball to pass it forward, any intentional forward movement of his arm starts a forward pass, even if the player loses possession of the ball as he is attempting to tuck it back toward his body. Also, if the player has tucked the ball into his body and then loses possession, it is a fumble

Rams head coach and competition committee member Jeff Fisher was pretty matter of fact about the rule change:

"It makes sense."