clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall of Fame: Former Rams shutout again

Jerome Bettis, Aeneas Williams and Kevin Greene were not among the seven new members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced on Saturday night.

Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sports

Seven new members were selected for the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday. The list includes household names like Bill Parcells and Warren Sapp. It does not include a trio of former St. Louis and Los Angeles Rams players, Jerome Bettis, Aeneas Williams and Kevin Greene.

Bettis was drafted in the first round, with the 10th overall pick, of the 1993 NFL Draft. He spent three years with the Rams, including moving east to St. Louis with the team in 1995. RIch Brooks and Co. shipped him out of town when he declined to be turned into a fullback. He landed in PIttsburgh for a third-round pick, and had six straight seasons topping the 1,000-yard mark for rushing.

Williams spent the last four years of his career with the Rams. A former third-round pick of the then-Phoenix Cardinals, Williams finished his career with 55 interceptions. He played safety his last two years with the Rams and was part of the 2001 team that went to the Super Bowl.

Greene was a fifth-round pick of the LA Rams in 1985. He spent eight seasons with the Rams, racking up 72 sacks during that stretch. He finished his career in 1999. His 160 career sacks are the third-most of any player in the NFL, since the league made that statistic official.

All three of those players made the final cut of 10 announced Saturday afternoon, but not the final five.

The 2013 class includes Larry Allen, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden, Bill Parcells and Warren Sapp. Curley Culp and Dave Robinson made the Hall of Fame as part of the senior class voting process.