clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pepsi NFL Rookie of the Year award announced today; AP winner tomorrow

The NFL is rolling out the award this week, taking advantage of the annual Super Bowl media frenzy. 

St. Louis Rams QB Sam Bradford has been in North Texas this week since he's up for two of the NFL's Rookie of the Year awards...obviously he's not there leading the 7-9 Rams in the Super Bowl. Tonight at 7 p.m. ET the NFL will announce the Pepsi Rookie of the Year Award. Bradford is no lock for this award, voted on by fans. It figures to be a tight race between him and another rookie sensation, Lions DT Ndamukong Suh. Also up for the award: Browns CB Joe Haden, Patriots CB Devin McCourty, and Bucs WR Mike Williams, 

Tomorrow night the league will announce the AP Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year award winners. The AP awards are considered the "official" rookie of the year awards. Bradford should walk away with that one, though Mike Williams will definitely get some serious consideration. But let's face it, Bradford was a record setting rookie QB, setting new highs for attempts and completions and the third highest mark for passing yards by a rookie, trailing only Peyton Manning and Jim Kelly.